Our Board and Members

MacKillop Family Services' Board has overall responsibility for the governance of the organisation. In particular, the Board oversees the achievements of organisational aims, strategic planning and review.

The Board is responsible for compliance and legal obligations, financial planning and performance, risk compliance, agency policy review and endorsement, promotion and fundraising. The Board also provide an accountability function to the members (the company owners), funding bodies and the community.


Mr Des Powell
B.Ecops, GA ICD, Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
Appointed Director November 2013
Appointed Chairperson 20 November 2014
Convenor of the Executive Committee 
Commissioner, Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation 
Director Victorian Regional Channels Authority 
Director Grampians Wimmera Mallee Water 
Director and Chair Federation Training

Congregational Representatives

MacKillop Family Services’ Congregational Representatives are:

Sisters of Mercy:
Sr Patrice Orchard rsm
Mothercraft Nurse, Child Care Certificate,
BA (Psychology, Sociology)
Appointed Director 30 November 2010
Convenor of Ethos and Culture Committee 

Christian Brothers:
Br Terence Burke cfc
BSc, BEd, MEdAdmin, MCouns
Appointed Director 22 November 2011
Member of the Ethos and Culture Committee

Sisters of St Joseph:
Sr Colleen O'Dwyer rsj
DipEd Admin
Appointed Director 30 November 2010
Members of Ethics Committee 

Ordinary Directors

MacKillop Family Services' Ordinary Directors are:

Ms Kerry Brettell
BSW (Hons), MSocSci
Appointed Director 20 November 2012
Convenor of Quality and Research Committee 
Director, Integroe Partners

Mr Alan Curtain
BTheol, GradDip Adolescent Health and Welfare, Master Workplace and Employment Law
Appointed Director 30 November 2010
Member of Quality and Research Committee 
Community Development Worker, Family Life

Mr Matthew Paul den Elzen
Appointed Director 29 November 2016
Convenor of the Finance and Investment Committee 
Member of the Governance Committee
Investment Director for Hume Partners

Ms Robyn Fry
LLB., GIA(Cert)
Appointed Director November 2015
Member of the Ethics Committee 

Mr Brian Keane
Appointed Director August 2015
Member of the Audit and Risk Committee 
Director, Brian Keane Consulting 

Dr Patricia McNamara
BA, DipEd, BSW GradDipFamTher, PhD, AASW
Appointed Director 30 November 2010
Member of the Quality and Research Committee
Senior Lecturer, School of Social Work and Social Policy, La Trobe University

Dr Garry Nolan
(Deputy Chair)
Appointed Director 30 November 2010
Convenor of the Audit and Risk Committee
Member of the Executive Committee 
Business Mentor (Retired Corporate Executive)

Professor Peter Steane msc
BTheol (MCD), GradDipEd (ACU), MEd (UNE), PhD (Griffith)FAICD
Appointed Director 26 November 2015
Convenor of Ethics Committee
Chair of Strategy, Peter Faber Business School,
Faculty of Law and Business, Australian Catholic University

Our Members

Br John Webb cfc, Christian Brothers
Br Chris Meehl cfc, Christian Brothers
Sr Kerrie Cusack rsj, Sisters of St Joseph
Sr Mary Davis rsj, Sisters of St Joseph
Sr Annette Schneider rsm, Sisters of Mercy
Sr Kath Tierney rsm, Sisters of Mercy